What does it mean Dosha?

What are the Doshas? Each of us has a different metabolism and responses to food and the environment. The physical universe is formed by four primary states of matter. Solid, liquid, transformation and movement, which exist in the fifth state of space. In Ayurveda, there are three basic constitutional types (doshas). When combined they create seven possible types, which are in constant play with each other.

Our constitution is fixed at the moment of conception (Prakriti), our goal for health. When is out of balance can varies from our current constitution (Vikruti).

Energies and its relation to the Doshas

The primary forces responsible for our body and mind which define our constitution are Vata (wind and space), Pitta (fire and water) and Kapha (Earth and water). Each of us has a unique proportion from these energies, but all are present within us. The majority nowadays have dual constitutions. The goal is to identify what is out of balance in order to bring harmony and eradicate the dualities.



Some of the positive aspects per dosha:

-When Vata is dominant, we tend to be thin, feel lighter, enthusiastic, energetic and open to new changes.

-When Pitta is more present, we might have the tendency of being more intense, searching for challenges and goal orientated, with a strong appetite for life and with the urge of using more our intellect. They are good leaders and kind.

-When Kapha is higher we tend to be methodical, steady, caring, emphatic and tolerant.

Some of the negative aspects are:

-Vata has so much movement and tends to experience; anxiety, insomnia, dry skin, constipation and difficulty to concentrate.

-Pitta when out of balance, can experience an excess of ¨heat¨ being compulsive and irritable, can suffer from indigestion and inflammation.

-If Kapha is more present the person can have the tendency to be slower, gain weight easily and suffer from nasal congestion.

Do you connect any of the above to yourself?